Skip to main content
Increasing the Knowledge of Optics ....


OSA logo

OISC logo

SPIE logo

IEEE Photonics Society logo

NPI logo

IYL logo

Website Sponsors


AEH logo

Diverse Optics logo

GCL logo

MicroLaser logo

Mindrum logo

Newport Labs logo

Optic Systems Group


Uniting the Southern California Optics Community


The Optical Society of Southern California was founded in 1951 to increase and disseminate the knowledge of optics and closely allied sciences and to promote the mutual interests of investigators, organizations, teachers and students in these fields.

The Society is a local section of the Optical Society of America and typically meets on the second Wednesday of each month from October through June.  Most of our meetings are open to the public.  Those interested in promoting our goals are invited to apply for either Individual or Corporate Membership.

Professional Education

Fiber Optics Technology Today
Free Webinar Event: Wednesday, December 3, 2014
These courses are part of the Certificate Programs in:
Optical Engineering and Optical Instrument Design
OSSC Members receive a 15% discount for these courses.

Photonics @ UC Irvine Meeting

Fundamentals and recent advances in micro and nanopositioning for fast photonic process automation
and a brief update on the National Photonics Initiative
Donn Silberman head shot

Internship at Precision Optical

Saddleback College student Dror Sapir shares his internship experience in an article he wrote for Network Kinection, an organization dedicated to fostering internship opportunities for college and university students.

Dror PO
Sapir's internship is with OSSC Corporate Member Precision Optical through the Orange County
Bridge [2] Engineering Program.
To read more click here...

New OSSC Members

New Individual Members
Norma Adachi
Gilberto Cardenas
Rajat Dey
Stephen Fantone
Brian Hagerty
Adam Loukeh
Damien Nguyen
Brenna Norris
Adam Rubin
Scott Strutner

New Corporate Members
Gary Bordenkircher, Product Design Labs
Charles Gaugh, Optic Systems Group
Vahan Senekerimyan, FindLight

We value your membership and appreciate your support!

Member Directory

A digital copy of OSSC's 2013-2014 Membership Directory
(including a listing of Corporate Members)
is available for download to all current OSSC Members.

The Directory is in the Member's Only Folder:

Members must log-in to view and download the file.

Images Newsletter

The OSSC newsletter, Images, is published monthly from October through June.  Read about our next meeting and other events; discover more about our individual and corporate members; and learn about the history of the OSSC!

Click on the Focal Point logo below to visit the OSA's News from Local Sections and Student Chapters.

OSA Focal Point

Job Announcements

Several more jobs have been posted recently to the OSSC jobs board.  Some posts contain multiple positions.

Contact Denise Ullery , OSSC Jobs Board Coordinator
to submit Employment Opportunities.
Members may post after logging in.

See the latest Salary Survey for Jobs in the
Optics & Photonics Industries

Speakers Bureau

The OSSC has formed a Speakers Bureau, to create a roster of individuals interested in giving talks for student chapters, OSSC meetings, and similar events.  If you have something interesting to share with our local optics community, especially career-related topics of interest to students, please fill out the volunteer form (link below).
For more information, contact:
2014-2015 President Jack Latchinian

National Academies'
Optics and Photonics Study

Download & review this significant document:
Optics and Photonics

Essential Technologies for Our Nation

from the Committee on Harnessing Light:
Capitalizing on Optical Science Trends and Challenges for Future Research
National Materials and Manufacturing Board
Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
of the

Provided by: Dr. Alan Willner, USC 213/740-4664213/740-4664

Upcoming OSSC Meeting:
December 10 at IVC ATEP

Annual Corporate Member Appreciation Meeting:
Growing the Optics Community in
Southern California
Pathways from education to corporate success

OSSC Panel Discussion
Brian Monacelli              Nick Lambert          Arnie Bazenski  
Irvine Valley College   Precision Optical       Schott Glass    

Janeth Brenna
    Janeth Manjarrez         Brenna Norris

                     Vital Link OC          Irvine Valley College

Corporate Exhibits, Reception & Lab Tours:
5:00-7:00 pm
Buffet Dinner: 6:00-7:30 pm
Panel Presentation: 8:00 pm
Cost:  $30 / $40 after Dec. 5
OSSC Students: FREE / $15 after Dec. 5

OSSC Corporate Members please contact:
Donn Silberman to reserve your table top exhibit space.
There are Only 15 spaces still available

Irvine Valley College
Advanced Technology & Education Park

15445 Lansdowne Rd.
Tustin, CA 92782

Free Parking

Recent OSSC Meeting:
November 12 in Los Angeles

Take Your Pick: Choosing optical materials for imaging in the 0.5 to 5.0 µm spectral region

Harvey Spencer 3
Also, a special tribute
In memory of Milton Laikin
OSSC Fellow and President

The Proud Bird
11022 Aviation Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90045

Recent OSSC Meeting:
October 8 at Precision Optical

This event was FULL with over 100 attendees.
We look forward to seeing you at future OSSC events!

OSSC panel discussion
on the
 National Photonics Initiative
featuring leaders in industry, academia, and government.
    Dr. Thomas Baer, Stanford Photonics Research Center
        and OSA Past President, NPI Steering Committee Chair
    Dr. Robert Leiberman, President of Lumoptix and
        Vice President of SPIE
    Mr. Gary Spiegel, SPIE Secretary/Treasurer and
        retired Senior EVP of Newport Corp.
    Prof. Bruce Tromberg, UC Irvine Beckman Laser Institute
     Moderated by OSSC Past President Donn Silberman
OSSC Members can click on the hot links of each panelists
and download their presentations.
Special Guests: Congressman Dana Rohrabacher
and other elected officials
Hosted by OSSC Corporate Member Precision Optical
320 Kalmus Drive, Costa Mesa, CA
Click here to see story on Precision Optical's website

This meeting was a very successful event.
Photos, videos and the presentations will be available soon.

Download the flyer to share with friends and colleagues

Recent Outreach Events

Oct 21 2014Day of Photonics&
DAY OF PHOTONICS is an annual event that promotes “photonics” towards the general public. Companies, research organizations, and organizations involved in photonics will reach out to their communities to raise awareness about what is photonics and why it is important...READ MORE
Photonics for a Better world

Give a presentation to a service group, classroom, youth group, or peer group, using a ready-built slide deck

Beall CenterFamily Day at the  UC Irvine Beall Center for Art + Technology was on Saturday, October 18th 11 am to 4 pm.

The OISC, OSSC and UCI OSA / SPIE Student Chapter volunteered.
Children and families of all ages are invited to enjoy free, hands-on art and science activities at UC Irvine’s Family Day at the Beall.  The event offers a “kid-friendly” introduction to new media art relating to the Beall Center’s current exhibit, as well as presentations, hands-on activities, and more.

The Beall Center for Art + Technology is located at the Claire Trevor School of the Arts, UCI Campus, Building 712 Arts Plaza.
Admission is free and open to the public.  (Map)

Mount Wilson Observatory
Viewing Night
OSSC members and guests had an amazing night
of viewing on the 60" telescope and a tour of
the 100" telescope at Mt. Wilson

Friday, May 30, 2014

OptoBotics® is licensed to the OISC for use in its educational programs.
Most Recent Update:  November 26th, 2014

 LinkedInTwitterFaceBook   Bookmark and Share